Kamochi by Hiro’s Kitchen

It was another lazy Sunday. I woke up quite early, around 8:30 a.m., the sun was up and the music from the apartment’s park was blaring. I rummaged into my fridge and found a week-old steamed purple sweet potato.

I re-heated the sweet potato by steaming it again; mashed it in a bowl; added grated cheddar cheese, raisins, slivered almonds, oats, brown sugar, and honey; and the mixture was rolled into balls. I made nine balls and had ’em for breakfast with green tea.

I am calling it kamochi — kamote (sweet potato in Filipino) + mochi (not close to the Japanese kind, but the shape is). You may call it kamote balls or ubi (sweet potato in Indonesian) balls or bola ubi (in Indonesian).

20170507_090120

Next time, I will try to make kamochi with cocoa bits and dark chocolate, green tea and red beans, and dried mangoes and pinipig (rice crispies). A friend suggested to roll it in coconut flakes. I think a dusting of powdered sugar would be nice too.

Leave a Reply

